Photography , Meditation, Prayer

The rich man and the poor man

Tomorrow the much awaited India Vs England one day cricket match is happening. The splendid sight of the flood lit stadium was irresistible for the photographer in me. I was dead tired after a day’s work, but still could not resist the call of photography. Prayed for a good result and Went near the stadium, mounted my camera on the tripod, and clicked, resulting in the spectacular view of the stadium in all it’s glory. As per my standards, it is a good one.

kaloorstadium2

Then I turned the camera 180 degrees to capture these gypsies preparing their dinner, in the light spilled over from the stadium. While one side was getting ready for the glory and glitter of an international cricket match, on the other side, these people were preparing their dinner in the open space.

gypsydinner

When I searched for ‘Rich and poor in bible’, this is what I got;

Parable of the Rich Man and Lazarus

19 Jesus said, “There was a certain rich man who was splendidly clothed in purple and fine linen and who lived each day in luxury. 20 At his gate lay a poor man named Lazarus who was covered with sores. 21 As Lazarus lay there longing for scraps from the rich man’s table, the dogs would come and lick his open sores.

22 “Finally, the poor man died and was carried by the angels to be with Abraham.[a] The rich man also died and was buried, 23 and his soul went to the place of the dead.[b] There, in torment, he saw Abraham in the far distance with Lazarus at his side.

24 “The rich man shouted, ‘Father Abraham, have some pity! Send Lazarus over here to dip the tip of his finger in water and cool my tongue. I am in anguish in these flames.’

25 “But Abraham said to him, ‘Son, remember that during your lifetime you had everything you wanted, and Lazarus had nothing. So now he is here being comforted, and you are in anguish. 26 And besides, there is a great chasm separating us. No one can cross over to you from here, and no one can cross over to us from there.’

27 “Then the rich man said, ‘Please, Father Abraham, at least send him to my father’s home. 28 For I have five brothers, and I want him to warn them so they don’t end up in this place of torment.’

29 “But Abraham said, ‘Moses and the prophets have warned them. Your brothers can read what they wrote.’

30 “The rich man replied, ‘No, Father Abraham! But if someone is sent to them from the dead, then they will repent of their sins and turn to God.’

31 “But Abraham said, ‘If they won’t listen to Moses and the prophets, they won’t listen even if someone rises from the dead.’”

Dear Lord, while enjoying my life, let me not forget the poor and the needy.

Leave a comment